Skip to main content


November 19, 2019

8th Annual Art Competition Dates Announced

BAC is happy to announce its 8th Annual Art Competition, to take place May 15th to July 3rd, 2020. Distinguished jurors Ilze Arajs and Alan Leder will award the winners at the opening reception being held on Friday, May 15th. More details on the show and submission deadline will be provided soon! Stay tuned!
October 3, 2019


Legendary architect Harry Weese once posited that “every building is a landmark.” In OUTside THE PRACTICE: MONUMENTS AND PLACES OF MEMORY, Chicago-based architects and designers present distinctive and original visions on the topic, relieved of the constraints of conventional architectural practice.
September 6, 2019

The Border Crossed us exhibition featured on WTTW 11

"Navigating the rocky road of migration, a diverse group of artists explores heartbreak and hope on the border between the United States and Mexico. They come from Chicago, California and Texas – plus Mexico, Honduras and Nicaragua. At the Bridgeport Art Center, 68 prints by 37 printmakers bridge the border and all its baggage. They dig deep into their identities and the challenges they face." - Phil Ponce, WTTW 11   Click here to see the video
August 2, 2019

The Border Crossed Us Exhibition

The Border Crossed Us presents 68 prints by 37 artists from portfolios of work that were produced in Chicago by Rene Arceo’s Arceo Press. The works reflect a search for meaning in the complex cross-border migrant experience. Curated by Eugenia Macias, the exhibit was first shown at the UNAM, Morelia Campus (National Autonomous University of Mexico) in October, 2018.
March 8, 2019

7th Annual Bridgeport Art Center Competition Artists

Bridgeport Art Center (BAC) will announce the winners of our 7th Annual Art Competition, awarding $3,000 in prizes to artists in the Chicagoland area, during an awards ceremony on Friday, March 15th, 2019 from 7-10PM. The show will continue until May 3rd, 2019 in the 4th Floor Gallery. From the many entries submitted, jurors Stano Grezdo and Joyce Owens selected a show of 60 examples of contemporary art from the region, representing a great variety of styles and media. Artists accepted into this year’s show include: Adler, Beth Adorno, Giovanni Anderson, Robert Armendariz, Tony Avanessian, Andre Baker, Heather Balousek, Zachary Balza, Israel Barcal, Peter Bernhard, Cindy Botello, Maritza Bowden, James Eli Bozif, Curtis Anthony Brown, Robert Brucar, Shelley Brucar, Wayne Bult, Lea Buvala, Randy Cantada, Nelson Cashmere, NickCazacu, Jasmina Chmieleskwi, Kenny Cramer, Erin Criner, David Criner, Margie DeWitt, Doug Eaton, Kathleen Elner, Dyl Finston, Lya Frazier, Anitra Frein, Tracy Gaines, Anne Farley Galvan Orozco, Sara Gamez, Daniel Gozo, Set Gregory, Erin Hauptschein, David Hendrickson, Kate Henri, Clifton Hensen, KellyHolt, Nicolina Jackson, Jen Jankoswski, Gretchen Johnson, Eugenie Kazwick, Carol Kulla, Roland LaJeunesse, Kristen Maltz, Richard Misewicz, Jennifer Mossman, Scott Novelli, Geoffrey Powell, Phyllis Reese, Terrence Robbins, Renee Russell, Paul Shelton, Edwin…